Kanye did NOT say he was ‘the next Nelson Mandela’ … But the world has low expectations

Kanye West was the victim of a successful hoax that had convinced and angered many. The Daily Currant, a satirical website wrote a fake article where the Bound 2 singer had declared himself as ‘the next Nelson Mandela’.

In the article, West was quoted ‘I liberate minds with my music. That’s more important than liberating a few people from apartheid or whatever’.  Considering West has said some pretty outlandish remarks about his ‘greatness’ and ‘contribution to the world’, the article carried the same tone as the rapper.

The article continues with ‘Anyone can be replaced. And I think I’m well on my way towards being the next great black leader. I’m already worshiped around the world. And there’s more to come’. In typical West offensive manner, ‘Mandela was working in South Africa, which has, like what, six people? I started my magic here in the USA and then I took my business global. Worldwide baby.’

The satirical nature of the website was overlooked by so many people over the weekend. Many took to twitter with their outrage over the interview from West.

KW - TwitterKW - Twitter 2

He has in the past compared Shakespeare, Andy Warhol and Jesus. He also described himself as the reincarnation of Steve Jobs, not too far off from this fake article.

Leave a Reply

